MICHEL TROTTIER

If you are reading this, it is proof of your will – your will to project us into the future together by taking action in the present. I firmly believe that a city is the best place from which to create the type of social change that betters quality of life locally, but also strengthens the region as a whole. In 2013, I realized that creativity, innovation and pride would not be instated with the reelection of former politicians, but with a collective appropriation of the values named here. This is why I am running for Mayor of Laval – it is not a plan B, but the natural progression of my life as an involved citizen, and my goal of sharing a positive, creative and productive vision for the City of Laval.

If you too believe that boldness has its place in politics; that Laval needs to rewrite its name on the leadership board of great Quebec cities; and that a new, creative and sustainable future must be forged, then I encourage you to support and share your belief in quality municipal policies that represent the importance of being present – for each other, and for the future.

As Mayor, this is what I am committed to offering you, and what the 21 candidates in our party are committed to delivering every day. We will do this to the best of our ability and with all of our hearts.

Sincerely,  

MICHEL TROTTIER signaturemichel 300x33

MICHEL TROTTIER maire visionnaire 2

A visionary

Michel Trottier is the opposition leader within city council. Fabreville municipal councillor since 2013, his dream is of a people-first, ambitious city. He created Parti Laval due to a rejection of the status quo and the past. Parti Laval aims to decentralize investments within Laval, taking them away from the center and bringing them closer to its citizens – and that means, within each neighbourhood. Laval is the third city in Quebec to rebuild its leadership through creative and innovative local projects. Michel Trottier’s vision has allowed him to bring together 21 active citizens who also hope to reinstate the city as one of the greatest in the province. On November 5th, the people of Laval will have the opportunity to choose a vibrant Mayor and thriving neighbourhoods based on services that take into consideration presence and proximity.

Citizen first

Michel Trottier has lived in Laval for more than 30 years. As a deeply involved member of the community, he presided over the association of residents of Champfleury and allowed for the development of many local initiatives, making the neighbourhood an example for quality of life. The desire to improve the daily lives of citizens and its future generations propelled him into municipal politics in 2013, when he ran as an independent. Creative and ambitious, Michel Trottier became known through his initiative with used suitcases, in which he placed his signs, and which citizens throughout his sector displaced of their own volition. For Michel Trottier, politics is a participatory act.

MICHEL TROTTIER Citoyen d abord

Public manager

Throughout each of the projects Michel Trottier has piloted, he has always benefited from the confidence of his peers. Born pedagogue and devoted citizen, he built his success in the schooling sector. Starting as a teacher in a reception classroom, he was soon named school principal. Through knowledge of best practices in management, he became Vice President of AMDES, a Montreal association for school administrators, which allowed him to defend and develop the interests of its members both at local and national levels. Today, Michel Trottier hopes to put all of his professional and community-based experience at the disposal of fellow citizens as Mayor of Laval.

MICHEL TROTTIER Gestionnaire public
MICHEL TROTTIER Gestionnaire public

Public manager

Throughout each of the projects Michel Trottier has piloted, he has always benefited from the confidence of his peers. Born pedagogue and devoted citizen, he built his success in the schooling sector. Starting as a teacher in a reception classroom, he was soon named school principal. Through knowledge of best practices in management, he became Vice President of AMDES, a Montreal association for school administrators, which allowed him to defend and develop the interests of its members both at local and national levels. Today, Michel Trottier hopes to put all of his professional and community-based experience at the disposal of fellow citizens as Mayor of Laval.

Active man

Health is at the heart of any public issue. Former leader of Quebec en Forme, an organization devoted to promoting health in Quebec’s youth, he presided over the regions of Laval, Lanaudière, the Laurentians and Montreal, promoting physical activity and healthy eating and lifestyle choices. As a municipal councillor, Michel Trottier ensured that Laval be recognized as a “Vélosympathique” city, a city where cycling is encouraged and developed both through infrastructure and support. He also supported the importance of removing junk food from schools in Laval and participates in the annual Champfleury race every year. Furthermore, he was opposed to the rule prohibiting children from playing outside, and moved to allow free play in the streets of Laval so that children could benefit wholly from their immediate surroundings. As a cyclist and runner, he hopes to offer citizens the opportunity to benefit physically from their city.

MICHEL TROTTIER actif

MICHEL TROTTIER

Si vous lisez ces lignes, c’est une démonstration de volonté. Celle de se projeter ensemble dans l’avenir, et d’agir dans le présent. Je crois fermement que la ville est le meilleur espace pour créer une transformation sociale qui améliore la qualité de vie locale et qui défend un leadership régional. En 2013, j’ai réalisé que la créativité, l’innovation et la fierté ne viendraient pas avec la réélection des anciens politiciens, mais viendraient par une appropriation collective. C’est pourquoi ma candidature à la mairie de Laval n’est pas un plan B, c’est la continuité naturelle de ma propre implication citoyenne, dans le but de partager une vision positive, créative  et performante de la Ville de Laval.

 

Si vous aussi vous croyez que l’audace a sa place en politique, que Laval doit reprendre sa place sur l’échiquier des grandes villes du Québec et qu’un avenir nouveau, créatif et durable est à créer, je vous encourage à nous soutenir et à partager l’importance d’une politique municipale de qualité et de proximité.

 

C’est ce que je m’engage à vous offrir comme maire, et c’est ce que les 21 candidats et candidates de notre parti s’engagent à livrer quotidiennement. Nous le ferons avec tout notre coeur et notre compétence.

Sincèrement,

Un maire visionnaire

Michel Trottier dirige la principale force d’opposition au conseil de ville. Conseiller municipal de Fabreville depuis 2013, il rêve d’une ville humaine et ambitieuse. Son refus du statu quo et du passé l’ont amené à bâtir un projet, le Parti Laval, qui propose de décentraliser les investissements au centre de Laval pour les amener près des citoyens, dans chacun des quartiers. Laval est la 3e ville du Québec et doit rebâtir son leadership par des projets créatifs et des innovations locales. La vision de Michel Trottier lui a permis de rassembler 21 citoyens engagés qui désirent, eux aussi, redonner à Laval la place qu’elle mérite sur l’échiquier des grandes villes du Québec. Le 5 novembre prochain, les Lavallois pourront choisir un maire vibrant et des quartiers colorés par des services de proximité.

Citoyen d’abord

Michel Trottier habite Laval depuis plus de 30 ans. Fortement impliqué dans la vie communautaire, il a présidé l’association des résidents de Champfleury et a permis le développement d’une foule d’initiatives locales qui font de ce quartier un exemple en matière de qualité de vie. Cette volonté d’embellir le quotidien des citoyens et des générations futures l’a lancé en politique municipale en 2013, alors qu’il se présentait comme indépendant pour représenter ses concitoyens. Créatif et ambitieux, Michel Trottier s’est fait connaître en exposant ses affiches à l’intérieur de valises usagées, que les citoyens déplaçaient aux quatre coins de son secteur. Pour Michel Trottier, la politique est participative.

Gestionnaire public

Dans chacun des projets qu’il a piloté, Michel Trottier a toujours bénéficié de la confiance de ses pairs. Pédagogue et dévoué, il a cumulé les succès dans le milieu scolaire. D’abord professeur en classe d’accueil, son ouverture sur le monde lui a permis de travailler comme intervenant spécialisé, et s’est vu nommé par la suite directeur d’école. Aguerri des meilleures pratiques de gestion, il a vice-présidé l’Association montréalaise des directions d’établissements scolaires, ce qui lui a permis de défendre et développer l’intérêts des membres tant au niveau local que national. Aujourd’hui, Michel Trottier souhaite mettre toute son expérience professionnelle et communautaire au servie des citoyens, comme maire de Laval.

Homme actif

La santé est au coeur des préoccupations publiques. Ancien responsable régional de l’organisme Québec en forme pour les régions de Laval, Lanaudière, Laurentides et Montréal,  Michel Trottier défend la mobilité active et les saines habitudes de vie. En tant que conseiller muncipal, Michel Trottier a permis à Laval d’être reconnue comme ville Vélosympathique et a encouragé le développement du réseau cyclable de Laval. Il a également soutenu l’importance d’éloigner la malbouffe à proximité des écoles de Laval et participe à chaque année à la course annuelle de Champfleury. Opposé au règlement qui empêchait les enfants de jouer dehors, il a permis le jeu libre dans les rues de Laval, afin de permettre aux enfants de profiter pleinement de leur environnement immédiat. Cycliste et coureur, il souhaite offrir à tous les citoyens l’opportunité de profiter activement de leur quartier et de leur ville.